Takers for moth pelts, anyone?


26769025-IMG_2627

Butterflies are pretty and all, but I’m quite partial to moths. When they’re not all over my laptop screen, that is.

When seen during the day, moths are often far more restful, pretty okay with just sitting around. Unlike the adult-onset hyperactive twits that the butterflies seem to be. This particular moth (damned if I can identify even one of them,) posed for as long as I was shooting, allowing me to get within a couple of centimetres without getting fluttery.

Also, is it just me or are we all a bit weird when it comes to hair and fur? A furry dog or a cat – so warm and fuzzy. A hairy spider gives us the creeps. Sure, I’m not asking you to pet one here (although I suppose people do do that with tarantulas,) but its a point of principle. Let’s end this hypocrisy with hair and fur! Embrace your inner furry.

Metadata Canon Powershot G11. ISO 80. f/4.0 at 1/10 second. Edited using Picasa 3.8.
Taken in January 2011 in my backyard in Bangalore, India.

Takers for moth pelts, anyone?

Leave a Reply

