A lack of colour.


26873372-Butterfly126873375-Butterfly226873377-Butterfly_cocoonI realised that I have a few macro pictures that pre-date my obsession with spiders and all things many-legged. I took snaps of this butterfly(?) just outside my house back in August last year. Very colourful, I’d found three “freshly hatched” butterflies, they were still struggling a bit with their flight, and I even found their cocoon shells (see picture 3).

Though very colourful, I’m still not convinced that they’re butterflies though. Usually, butterflies have their dorsal (the “top face”) face of the wings all colourful, ventral not so much. Here, ventral’s bright and the dorsal’s a pale white (picture 2). My verdict – moth! And I love moths.

Metadata Canon Powershot G11. ISO 80. f/4.5 at 1/250; f/2.8 at 1/50; f/4.0 at 1/250 second. Edited using Picasa 3.8 and Adobe Photoshop CS5.
Taken in August 2010 in near my house in Bangalore, India.

A lack of colour.

Leave a Reply

