Pause for effect.


Last week, I had put up a picture of the Green Lynx Spider, the Peucetia viridana that I had come across in the Tamil countryside, some six months ago.

What I did not mention is that now, six months on, I am erm… raising one on my own. Extending my esteemed patronage, more like. You see, I have this little set of Tulasi plants growing just outside my front door. (Also known as tulsi, Ocimum tenuiflorum, or Holy Basil, for those unfamiliar with India.) For whatever reason, these tulasi plants seem to provide an excellent haunt for many spiders, and in my time I have observed and photographed four of them to date. The little green lynx being the most recent.

I wasn’t planning on introducing any of them till much later (I do have a whole stash of old photos to present, after all,) but this I had to show.

Amidst all the thunder and rain in Bangalore tonight, I saw the little critter climb up to the tip of the plant, turn around, pose for the portrait, scuffle about till it found the most invisible of silk strands that took it into the night.

26986481-Peucetia_viridana_Green_Lynx_SpiderAuf wiedersehen!

Metadata Canon Powershot G11. ISO 80. f/2.8 at 1/500 second with Flash. Edited using Picasa 3.8.
Taken in May 2011 in front of my house in Bangalore, India.

Pause for effect.

Leave a Reply

