Simon says Jump.


It’s a bit odd that I am posting my first picture of a Jumping Spider (family Salticidae) here on TDC today. This is a snap from back in November, that I had also shared earlier on Facebook.

Anyhou, jumping spiders are among my favourite critters. They are a bit hard to capture on my mid-level camera, in spite of their apparent curiosity and doe-eyed innocence. They’re tiny, they’re twitchy and boy are they adorable.

I found this particular critter on the trunk of a cocunut tree in my backyard. I’ve only identified it recently as a Grey Wall Jumper or the Menemerus bivittatus.

28336459-Menemerus_bivittatusI CAN HAS CHEEZBURGER?Don’t you dare discriminate against the four eyed. Or the six or the eight. They can have their cheeseburgers too.

Metadata Canon Powershot G11. ISO 200. f/4.0 at 1/60 second. Edited using Picasa 3.8 and Adobe Photoshop CS5. Taken in November 2010 in my backyard in Bangalore, India.

 

Simon says Jump.

Leave a Reply

