Blue is a masculine colour.


Yesterday, I’d put up a picture of the female Ground Skimmer. Turns out that the male skimmer is of a completely different colour, a vivid blue instead of the mottled yellow.

5 Dragonfly 2 Blue

Male spiders are tiny and usually get their heads eaten off. I guess male dragonflies have a slightly better deal.

Metadata Canon Powershot G11. ISO 80. f/4.5 at 1/320 second. Edited using Picasa 3.8 and Adobe Photoshop CS5. Taken in December 2010 at Keelamundal on the Gulf of Mannar coast, Tamil Nadu, India. This is the male Ground Skimmer, the Diplacodes trivialis.

Blue is a masculine colour.

4 thoughts on “Blue is a masculine colour.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Yay! My second desktop background request. :)Give me a day or so, and I’ll set something up. I can’t promise that I can provide all images for the desktop (sometimes they’re too closely cropped and don’t have the resolution for a background), but I’ll see what I can do. :)Merci beaucoup.

Leave a Reply

