The Golden Dragon wanders.


Today’s offering is a golden dragonfly, called the Wandering Glider, Pantala flavescens. I may have tweaked the saturation a little, but believe you me, that was one richly coloured dragonfly. Turns out that it’s also considered the most widely distributed dragonfly in the world. Pity that it has so few good photos then. Tell me if I’m wrong, but the photo in this post is better than anything on the wiki page.

28 Golden Dragonfly 7

And even if I say so myself, I have better ones still up my sleeve. ūüôā

Now all I need to do is follow this up with a picture of a silver stag and a copper star. And then we can all go Dance.

Metadata Canon Powershot G11. ISO 80. f/4.5 at 1/200 second. Edited using Picasa 3.8 and Adobe Photoshop CS5. Taken in December 2010 in Keela Mundal, Gulf of Mannar, Tamil Nadu, India. Hat-tip to Abhijeet Doshi and his shot of the Wandering Glider at India Nature Watch for ID help.

The Golden Dragon wanders.

Leave a Reply

